Runoff likely in Ward 5

By D. C. Moody -

PICKENS COUNTY — Nov. 3 was Election Day for a handful of non-partisan offices in Pickens County with all but one being contested by write-in candidates.

According to the Board of Voter Registration & Elections of Pickens County, based on unofficial results, a runoff election will likely be ordered between Bob Fedder and Thomas Wright, both candidates for the Ward 5 seat on Easley City Council.

Certification of the results was held Thursday. A run-off, if deemed necessary, will be held Nov. 17. To win without a runoff election, one candidate must receive more than half the votes cast for the office.

Wright, a 21-year member of Easley City Council, received 64 votes (50 percent) and Bob Fedder received 61 (47.66 percent). A third challenger, James Eller, received three votes.

Brian Garrison, incumbent for Easley City Council Ward 1, and Chris Mann, incumbent for Easley City Council Ward 3, were unopposed and were deemed elected.

Jeff Fogle, the incumbent for the commissioner seat on Easley Combined Utilities, also ran unopposed and was deemed elected.

In other races:

• Liberty City Council Ward 4 had incumbent Brian Petersen facing write-in candidate Marc Gravley. Petersen retained his seat by a tally of 115-85. Josh Harrison, the incumbent for Ward 3, and Lavant Padgett, the incumbent for the At Large seat, were unopposed.

• Norris City Council held elections for two seats. Kendall Shirley received 19 votes, Roy Bryant received 18 and Brian Cook received 17. The Pickens County Board of Voter Registry and Elections indicated there will likely be a recount.

• Pickens City Council had three seats up for grabs with incumbents Fletcher Perry and Patti Welborn coming away victors, as well as Lois Porter, who received 177 votes.

• Six Mile Town Council had two seats up for grabs. Jeff Dennis received 19 votes and David Yongue received 19 votes. No recount or run-off will be needed.

• In Central, incumbents Lynne Chapman, Harry Holladay and Joe Moss ran unopposed and were declared winners.

Easley Mayor Larry Bagwell, Norris Mayor Odell Williams, Pickens Mayor David Owens and Six Mile Mayor Roy Stoddard, incumbents for the four mayorships, were unopposed and were declared winners in their races.

By D. C. Moody

Reach D. C. Moody at 864-855-0355.

Reach D. C. Moody at 864-855-0355.

comments powered by Disqus